Help in becoming a chartered engineer! (1 Viewer)

Ryan_Berry

Reaction score
To all that can be of some assistance,

I just wondered if there was anyone on this forum at the moment working towards or is of chartered engineer status (there are very few around in scaffolding as I am sure you are all aware) as a 'scaffold desinger' / 'temporary works' engineer who can help in the process.

A little background to me: -
I have been working in the scaffold design sector for almost 7 years now. Currently a manager at scaffold designs limited in sheffield and studying part time. I have recently completed my BSc and am currently in my first year of the Masters Degree at Leeds University. I have another 2 years left and it is taking its toll after 9 years of part time study to get this far and am sick to death of seeing differential to the 6th order :mad:

Is anyone else in this position or been in this position who is aware of a quicker way to chartership other than the masters route? The CPD route is not possible at my age as you can only get chartership by 'experience' and report route I believe at 35 years old. The ICE and IStructE are extremely difficult to get chartered in unless you have experience in permanenet works design and/or worked on site for a period of time as it will be impossible to get through the chartered professional review and exam.

I don't believe there are any other ways as all of the institutes run through the Engineering Council but someone may know a way and would love to know if there is.

Any assistance in this area would be appreciated.

Ryan Berry