Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: 3D Scaffold drawings

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Dublin
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

    Smile 3D Scaffold drawings

    Hi All,

    If ye are doing 3D drawings, what software are you using? and any thoughts?
    I'm using Autocad 2D at the moment for drawing and CADs A3D max for design software.

    I've had a demo from Tekla and if you have their 3D drawing package and their structural design package you can import the 3D drawing into the design software, design the frame (scaffold) and edit it in the design and export it back to the drawing if necessary.
    Seems good but they don't have scaffold blocks developed yet which would be a deal breaker I'd say! (they say its in the pipeline).
    I've also looked at Avontus. any thoughts on them?

    Cheers!
    G. Molloy

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Posts
    147
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 86 Times in 52 Posts

    Default

    Hi, we use AutoCAD mainly 2D too but just bought Revit and Robot from Autodesk as part of their AEC suite (you can swap old licences and get a good deal). You can export designs straight into Robot for analysis and back again into Revit or AutoCAD. I've not had time to use them much yet but hoping to shortly. Avontus doesn't have enough scope for complex designs in my opinion, same with CADS smart scaffolder.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Dublin
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

    Default

    Thanks Biffo,

    I'm doing a trial of Avontus at the moment but I'd definitely need to keep AutoCAD along with Avontus as I don't think it would be a replacement.
    Would you see yourself generating material quantity lists for Clients from Revit?
    It's something we have been asked for and part of the reason I'm exploring 3D modelling/BIM.
    G. Molloy

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    surrey
    Posts
    323
    Thanks
    77
    Thanked 148 Times in 103 Posts

    Default

    I had a try of the CADS Smart Scaffolder not so long back and couldn't really find a use for it that TG20 compliance sheet wouldn't cover. As long as the building geometry was simple, it was quite useful for bashing out quick system drawings, tho. I had a quick go with Revit when I was still in structures but didn't use it enough to get any sort of skill level with it so now i'm still on AutoCAD and STAAD.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Dublin
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

    Default

    Cheers Nick,

    I'm going to give Revit a trial next. It's a considerable hike on price from AutoCAD LT to Revit but they are all yearly subscriptions now so I guess I could try it for a year and go back if I don't find it worth the extra cost.
    G. Molloy

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Georgina Molloy View Post
    Cheers Nick,

    I'm going to give Revit a trial next. It's a considerable hike on price from AutoCAD LT to Revit but they are all yearly subscriptions now so I guess I could try it for a year and go back if I don't find it worth the extra cost.
    This might help you, with SMART Estimator you can import a site plan from Revit, model your scaffold, and then send it back to Revit. This is a good way to get started, because you can then modify the scaffold once it’s in Revit. We made a quick video to show how you can create a 3D fly through in Revit with an export from SMART Estimator: https://smartscaffolder.com/latest/c...tor-and-revit/

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    141
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 84 Times in 55 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Georgina Molloy View Post
    Cheers Nick,

    I'm going to give Revit a trial next. It's a considerable hike on price from AutoCAD LT to Revit but they are all yearly subscriptions now so I guess I could try it for a year and go back if I don't find it worth the extra cost.
    Georgina, you need to check with your software supplier or Autocad themselves that this is possible. I am still on a maintenance agreement with Autodesk because it is cheaper than subscription but they are trying really hard to get me off it and into the expensive subscription of Revit so I suspect that there may be difficulties in going backwards if you don't get on with Revit.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Dublin
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SamRichardson View Post
    This might help you, with SMART Estimator you can import a site plan from Revit, model your scaffold, and then send it back to Revit. This is a good way to get started, because you can then modify the scaffold once it’s in Revit. We made a quick video to show how you can create a 3D fly through in Revit with an export from SMART Estimator: https://smartscaffolder.com/latest/c...tor-and-revit/
    Thanks Sam, that's great.
    G. Molloy

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Dublin
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

    Default

    Good tip, thanks. I'm on a subscription with Autocad LT but it's considerably cheaper than a subscription to Revit and having seen how much there is to learn in Revit I think I'd have to subscribe to both for quiet some time while I get to grips with Revit and fall back on Autocad to get urgent drawings out fast!
    G. Molloy

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

New To Site? Need Help?