Factors of Safety

Roarz

Reaction score
I am looking for a bit of advice, hopefully someone on t'web can help.

I am an engineer who is new to the scaffolding game and I am learning the idiosyncrasies associated with scaffolding.
I am starting to carry out some design now and I have a few example calcs from previous scaffold designs to refer to as a "startet for 10".

I have a few questions regarding loads used in design calculations.;

Is scaffolding structural design carried out to "Serviceability Limit State" (unfactored loads) or to Ultimate Limite State" (factored loads)?

If design is to "Ultimate Limit State", What factors of safety are applied / used in scaffolding design?

I have not seen any being applied in the examples I have, they all appear to be designed to "Serviceability Limit States". However I note that in EN12811-1:2003: Clause 10.1.1 & 10.1.3 that they refer to Ultimate Limit State.

my concern is that I follow the reference examples that I have, which incorrectly use unfactored loads and produce an incorrect design.

Scaffold design is traditionally designed in the UK using the permissible stress approach. All of the values for compression, shear, slip of couplers etc. in TG20:08 use SWL values with the factor of safety already applied.
I wouldn't recommend teaching yourself however as there are many factors which you will not be able to consider or learn without the help of an experienced engineer and without input from experienced scaffolders.

I wouldn't recommend teaching yourself however as there are many factors which you will not be able to consider or learn without the help of an experienced engineer and without input from experienced scaffolders.