hung out to dry? (1 Viewer)

pugwash

Reaction score
Even though I've been scaffolding for 24 years I've only got a part1,my own fault I know.I applied for funding for part 2 and was awarded 50%.this leaves 700 for me to pay.when asked why on 50% I was told that's all over 26yo can get.I can't afford this,because firms pay by card and not experience.my part 1 runs out in December so after that I'm unable to scaffold.seems a bit ageist.rant over

Think positive

Pugwash,
if my car exhaust falls off mate, I have to replace it, if the cupboards are empty at home, I have to fill them,I understand your issues, invest in yourself, look as the 50% funding is a bonus,when you keep your job, get more pay, the investment in your part 2 will be worth it, don't go down the road of not doing this course, sell your car,( you can get another) car boot, please just do it, you deserve it , if you've got a family you've got commitments, responsibilities, also to yourself, in fact do your part 2 and put in for your advanced straight away ,your holding yourself back pal, be the man you know scaffs are,
JUST DO IT!!!
let me know when you've done the course, you can go offshore ,large projects etc , think big loads a money £££££££££££
all the best,
Ray

Hi pugwash my training has set me back nearly 5000 without lose wages to go on courses .complacentcy is a big killer in our industry!
Why dont you try a small one man band they normally pay for experience
Imagine what it cost to start up a business and then be successful.

some people are not lucky enough to get funding , i ve spent 3 grand since november last year , to get back doing my job , do as i did , stop moaning and just do it , all the best

It's all right to tell him to stop moaning but how does a bloke with a family on part 1 wages afford the exorbitant attendance fees?

Sorry I meant training fees.