Self Builder - 1st time question. (1 Viewer)

extra180

Reaction score
Hi,

I am a self builder looking to erect my own scaffolding around a 1930's semi detached house, I have some basic knowledge and diagrams from 'Scaftag' to help me work to some sort of a standard.

I have been offered standard diameter (48.3mm) tube, but it is only 8ft lengths, I am considering buying some 'sleeves' and joining tubing as I go up, probably 3 lots of 8ft will do me.

I am looking to build a platform over the front garden and have material dropped up there by the delivery trucks crane, hence my concern over using shorter lengths I guess it would require a lot more 'braces' ?

Am I thinking right - or is something amis - and hence why the 8ft tube is cheap. Any other advice also - for a first timer.

Thanks

hi,

i am a self builder looking to erect my own scaffolding around a 1930's semi detached house, i have some basic knowledge and diagrams from 'scaftag' to help me work to some sort of a standard.

I have been offered standard diameter (48.3mm) tube, but it is only 8ft lengths, i am considering buying some 'sleeves' and joining tubing as i go up, probably 3 lots of 8ft will do me.

I am looking to build a platform over the front garden and have material dropped up there by the delivery trucks crane, hence my concern over using shorter lengths i guess it would require a lot more 'braces' ?

Am i thinking right - or is something amis - and hence why the 8ft tube is cheap. Any other advice also - for a first timer.

Thanks