Whitworth 7/16 in UK 1/2 in Australia (1 Viewer)

detroit

Reaction score
yeah yeah i'm a newbie here, so be cool, and i'm in Australia.

Any veterans have a decent understanding as to why scaffolding fittings are still using the ancient (1841), redundant and long discarded Whitworth standard? What is holding up the migration to metric for example?

Another question for the seasoned veterans out there concerns the actual sizing used in the UK. When I was in London around 10 years ago I noticed all the couplers on the street were using the smaller 7/16 size. This in particular spun me out (I had the idea to buy a decent spanner in the UK to bring back to OZ) since practically everything in Australia that I've used is actually 1/2" Whitworth save for the occasional rare fitting that's completely rusted out and looks 50 years old. I've been told that the UK used to use 1/2 inch but moved to the smaller 7/16 years ago, ideas as to when?

Some suppliers tell me if any 1/2" gear comes in they throw it out. There must be some usage reasons for using 7/16 over 1/2 as a preference. Anyone have the reasoning for this? I don't have a 7/16 spanner so I've never been able to use one with this size bolt on a fitting, only a ratchet can be used due to it having a 21mm head on one side (24mm on the other which is loose on a 1/2"W). However, I must say the 7/16 fitting does feel more secure for some reason.

I'm obviously trying to understand why in Australia we have settled for the 1/2"W, rather than the UK's 7/16 obviously that probably can't be answered here. It is possible we originally started with 1/2 like the UK in the old days but never followed the migration to 7/16 like the UK. This all seems strange since Australian Scaffold standards and regulations have always been based off the UK standards/regs.