Advanced or Supervisor course?? (1 Viewer)

woodsie

Reaction score
Hi there, Scaffolder part 2 looking into working abroad, offshore etc.
I know u need Boiset/ Mist to work offshore which im going to do but for other jobs in Middle East etc would going for my advanced or doing the scaffolder supervisor course be more helpful towards getting work.
I know doing both would be best but not made of money, plus the advanced course is more expencive, takes longer to do and you have to fill in portfolio and go back for two day assesment where as the supervisor course would be cheaper and is only a one week course, done n dusted.
Im sure id learn something on the advanced course but not beingn funny ive been doing it for over ten years.
Im swaying towards the supervisor course coz the suits will think its superior.(Althought its not)
What do ya would be best in regards of getting work guys?:confused:
Oh yeah and is the supervisor card a separate card or would i get a part 2 supervisor card???

Last edited:
Woodsie

In part answer to your question, the supervisor card is a separate card. I have no experience of offshore or work abroad, and therefore wouldn't know what they would be looking for with regards to qualifications. But over here on the big sites, it seems to be enough to show your supervisor card they are not interested in any other card. I don't know if they see this card as the be all and end all. This is only my experience I don't know if this is the case on all sites.

Hi Collo, Thanks for the reply, where are you working at the mo mate.

I've herd that the CITB are to revise the Advanced course yet again to include , wait for it 2 days of basic maths and english
character0112.gif

Something to do with raising the course to diploma level which in turn increases the level of government funding available to the training centers. Can anybody from the training centers confirm this or am I having my leg pulled
laugh.gif

nothing would surprise me Podger.