Urgent - H&S Help Needed! (1 Viewer)

realplayer_ed

Reaction score
Scaffolding Forum,

I am a 3rd year student at the University of Reading, with a family history and many family members involved in scaffolding in South-West/East London, and the son of a scaffolder of 25 years.

I am writing a Dissertation for my final degree on the Health & Safety aspects of the UK scaffolding industry. The objective of the dissertation is to outline the major problems in H&S and how H&S is regulated in the industry.

I'm not here as someone to probe and judge the members of this forum.

If anyone could give me feedback/pictures/statements/idea's/literature etc.. on the following things, detailed or not, this would be a great help and would contribute toward my dissertation.

- Health & Safety Inspections (do they even happen?are they frequent?)
- Health & Safety Manager's (does your gang closely follow safety guidelines?)
- Health & Safety Equipment (Is there enough? new technologies?)
- Personal Views (Personal incidents/accidents/fatalities)

I would really appreciate any help at all.

Feel free to send emails, any questions welcome

Cheers.

Eddy (realplayer_ed@hotmail.co.uk)

Hi Eddy

Your really opening a can of worms with your dissertaion choice!!:D

In recent times the H&S in our industry has gone through some drastic changes with the introduction of SG4:05 (Safety Guidance) and TG20:08 (Technical Guidance)

Firstly I would suggest you visit the NASC (National Access & Scaffolding Confederation) website as they have a load of downloadable information that you will find invaluable.

In regard to your specific questions:

H&S Inspections:
Do you mean scaffold structural inspections or general site/operative inspection? If you mean scaffold inspections then the scaffold must be inspected every 7 days, after major adaption or adverse weather by the user of the scaffold.
H&S Managers: