Screwjacks (1 Viewer)

DECROMAX

Reaction score
Just wanted to get an opinion from the engineers on here about screwjacks.
We have a 28 lift Layher tower all lifts boarded and is to be sheeted.
I queried my supervisor if the screwjacks were suitable for this load and he didnt have a clue.

Decromax

Good observation mate, the scaffold is only as strong as its weakest linkl, cant answer your Q tonight m8, (Too P1ssed) have a bash 2moz.

thought jacks had either 3 or 5 ton capacities - i could be wrong

Im no engineer but i know that all layher is certified but that is a good question thou .
I also have done many high scaffolds out of layher and have always used the standard Layher screw jack with the red tip but i do know there is a heavy duty Layher screw jack with a a blue tip and also there is a connector that you can double up the standards at the base , it looks like the letter H on its side with two wedges in it

At that height should it not have a drawing, this would then denote the loadings to the base support!!:confused:

Ragscaff

500mm screwjacks generally have a safe working load of 2.5 tons

Most screw jacks are tested to 3 tonnes point loaded , however heavy duty adjustable jacks including U heads should be 5 tonnes . If in doubt splice a tube against the standard to soul board fixed four times to the ground . I am not sure what tollarances this adds but I am quite sure the Earth itself would drop before the jack .
Apply your own common sence , it usually works . A spotty faced engineer is not always required , just my opinion , cheers .

I did not put the job up I only spotted it , As you said it is built to a drawing but I dont think it states which screw jacks to be used, the tower doesnt even have double standards :amazed: . I have built many a job off a drawing for different firms and I have to say working with dsl I think the engineer hasn't a clue when it comes to Layher and its strengths and weaknesses.