Impact wrench banning by the NASC? (1 Viewer)

MRscaff

Reaction score
We have just had a internal memorandum saying that the NASC are advising there members to ban the use of impact wrenches due to over tightening causing fitting to sprain and shearing.
I have been in the game for over 23yrs and i have been using my impact wrench for the last 6 months and i must say what a difference it has made. I no longer have aching joints and has reduced the risk of repetitive strain injury.

I find it very strange that the NASC have come up with this statement as i have never come across a fitting that has been over tightened to the point it has damaged the fitting using the wrench. But i have worked for other companys that have bought poor quality fittings such as some dropped forged fittings that the T at the back of the bolt use to cross if you were not careful and would appear to be tight but would come lose with vibration on the tube, also they had poor quality thread squeaking like mad when doing them up.

I know there is question upon torque values, but the the same can be said when using a swing over.
Can anybody throw some light on this?.

Not sure about the Impact Wrench , but i have seen a good few doubles ( dropped forged) that the threads have stripped on the inside of the nut , this can only be down to sub standard material being used , as i dont remember seeing this on any old doubles ever.
We got so many at one time that we now buy pressed steel fittings .
Aom is a big fan as are a few other lads on here of the IW and they where saying that with a little practice you dont over tighten the fittings .
Why dont the NASC invest some time and into getting the toques and noise levels
with the vibration levels on these machines and liaise with a manufacture to produce a purpose made scaffolders IW , instead of just banning them .