Scaffolding Design in Australia (1 Viewer)

Jason_p69

Reaction score
I am a structural design engineer from england and recently moved to Australia.
I am looking to set up again over here, as there seems to be a bit of a gap in the market!
Now in england it is made quite clear what you do and dont need a design for (Basic scaffold etc - all given on the HSE website and withing TG20).

Does anyone know of/ or is anyone aware of any such associations in australia, which give guidelines on this subject.

Also in the uk is it legislation that states that designs must be done in accordance with TG20?, as i was always made aware that these are just guidance documents to clear up any complications with the new BSEN replacements of the the design codes. Could someone clarify the legislation/legalities in England?

Jason,

There are two main LAWS which we must abide by in the UK: The Work at Height Regulations and The Construction (Design & Management) Regulations.

Most other things are 'guidance' and you do not have to abide by it if you don't want to.

However.. The easiest way to ensure that you always comply with the laws is to use the guidance provided in British or European standards for design and publications like SG4 for erection. If you treat these as the minimum requirement you won't go far wrong.

Technically.. there is nothing stopping you designing and erecting your scaffold without even reading a BS/ES/guide, however if something went wrong you would have to prove in court that you were compliant with the law, which would be incredibly difficult. I am in no way suggesting that this is the best way to go about things... I am just making the point.

So, that is why most clients (HA/Net Rail/LUL/TfL/Local Authorities etc) all stipulate that certain British & European standards must be used: to do everything they can to ensure that they (and there contractors) are compliant.

B.