Tie Spacing design (1 Viewer)

anchorengineer

Reaction score
Hello,
I'm a structural engineer in the US and I've been in design for 15 years but I'm relatively new to scaffold design. I am typically designing with fixed frames that are about 6ft tall and are spaced at 8ft on center. I have allowable load capacities for the frames from the scaffold manufacturers. The capacities are given per number of frames unsupported vertically. What I'm not 100% sure on is the horizontal spacing of the ties. I would assume that each frame in each column on the way up would need a tie but I am constantly seeing spacings of 24' from other engineers. I'm concerned about leaving a tower of frames not tied to the structure. Most of my structures are over 150 ft tall. I've been designing my ties to be staggered so this does not happen. I'm constantly seeing other designs that do not address this. Does anyone have technical data to justify a spacing that large? Is there something I'm missing?
Thanks!
Brian

Welcome Brian there are a few scaffold designers here mate who iam sure will be able to help you out :)

Generally in this country(uk)the tie pattern is every 4m across and 4m up,in either a grid or diamond pattern,but i'm sure some of the designer's on here can be more specific,not so sure on the conformity of the us though:bigsmile:
Howdy:cool:

Last edited:
Hello,