Benefits of contract hiring a Scaffold Truck (1 Viewer)

Reaction score
I've been selling and hiring Scaffolding trucks for 4 years now, flats, cranes, you name it I've sold or hired it. Over the past 18 months however I've seen a slight shift towards fully maintained contract hire by the larger scaffolding businesses, especially on crane lorries. I thought I would highlight the benefits of contract hire to Scaffolders Forum members for consideration and feedback.

In most cases Contract Hire is 100% Tax deductible, allowing you to deduct the full amount from the taxable income in other words the amount of tax to be paid.

Contract Hire is also a fixed weekly or monthly payment allowing you to have a clear understanding of your transport overhead with no unexpected hidden costs.

Fully maintained contract hire provides peace of mind with no expensive surprises along the way!! Repair bills on heavy commercials can be frightening and the downtime can be hugely problematic for business owners with a small fleet. By partnering with a contract hire firm, recovery, replacement vehicles and experienced mechanics are just a phone call away.

Above all, I feel that having the support of a contract hire firm will help your business grow. I am forever supplying vehicles on short 1-3 month terms to help with new contracts on subby work. You can plan for your busy times too!! If you require additional vehicles for short term contracts then partner with someone that understands the peaks and troughs of your business. I've seen small Scaffolding firms with one 3.5 tonne flat scale to 18 mixed vehicles over 4 years, we're not all cash rich and it is perhaps a more affordable option and less draining on your finances for transporting tubes and men.